» WaiBOP United announce ASB Premiership squad

WaiBOP United head coach, Peter Smith, has announced his squad for the 2013/14 ASB Premiership season.

After an intensive five week pre-season period, during which Smith and his coaching staff assessed countless players, the final group has been determined. Notable inclusions, over and above those players already named, are Nick Robson, Mikhail Bredeveldt and Marcel Galera Corbera.

Midfielder Robson comes to the side after involvement with Toronto FC from the USA’s Major League Soccer. In January 2013 he was drafted by Ryan Nelsen’s Toronto FC in the third round of the MLS supplemental draft following a college career in the state of New Mexico.

Bredeveldt was the leading scorer in the 2013 Northern Region Football League’s Premier Division after banging in 11 goals for Three Kings United. Spaniard Galera Corbera has impressed during pre-season and will add some creativity to the side from his position wide on the left.

Smith has added a Japanese flavour with Masaki Nomoto and Takahiro Yokota added to the squad. Nomoto is a versatile central midfielder or defender who played for Waitakere United during the 2012/13 season. Yokota, who played for Metro FC during the 2013 winter season, is a strong centre half who looks impressive in the air.

Midfielders Shaydon Young and Alexis Varela forced themselves into the mix over the last few weeks. Young, who played for Takapuna during the winter, has pace to burn and will be a great option out wide, while Hamilton Wanderers’ Varela, who played for Waikato FC last summer, adds strength to the middle of the park.

Ben Latham, after an impressive promotion campaign with Ngaruawahia United, Jacob Hall (Birkenhead United), is a former New Zealand age group player and has also spent time at Lincoln City in the UK, and Wade Molony (Hamilton Wanderers), who has impressed during pre-season, complete the squad.

Youngsters Tom Probert, Xavier Pratt and Reid Drake have been taken on as apprentices and will be working and training with the first team squad. The apprentices will play for the WaiBOP United Youth Team and Smith sees their involvement as an important part of the development and regeneration of the senior team for future seasons.

All White Aaron Scott will captain WaiBOP United this season.

Adam Luque and Josh Nelson were forced to withdraw with long-term injuries, but may come back into the reckoning during the January transfer window.

WaiBOP United players, including squad numbers:

1 Andrew McNeil (Gk)

2 Liam Higgins (Def)

3 Aaron Scott (Def)

4 Takahiro Yokota (Def)

5 Tyler Lissette (Def)

6 Masaki Nomoto (Def)

7 Mark Jones (Mid)

8 Mikhail Bredeveldt (For)

9 George Slefendorfas (For)

10 Milos Nikolic (For)

11 Marcel Galera Corbera (Mid)

12 Jack McNab (For)

13 Ben Latham (Def)

14 Maksim Manko (Mid)

15 Jacob Hall (Def)

16 Shaydon Young (Mid)

17 Raymond How (Def)

18 Alexis Varela (Mid)

19 Nicholas Robson (Mid)

20 Danyan Drake (Gk)

21 Scott Hilliar (Mid) – Youth

22 Wade Molony (Mid) – Youth

Apprentices: Tom Probert, Xavier Pratt and Reid Drake.

For more information please contact:

Peter Smith, WaiBOP United Head Coach

Dwayne Barlow, Communications Manager, WaiBOP Football Federation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *