WaiBOP United vs Hawkes Bay United – November 23, 2013 –


November 23, 2013Score: 0 – 2

Match Report

John Kerkhof Park, Cambridge. Kick-off: 5.00pm (ASB Premiership)


WaiBOP United has fallen to a disappointing defeat by Hawke’s Bay United on a blistering summer evening at John Kerkhof Park, Cambridge.

United had the better openings, particularly during the first 70 minutes, and more of the ball, but the visitors proved to be well organised, disciplined and, when it counted, just a bit more clinical in front of goal.

Neither side looked particularly impressive in front of goal during the first half. Several shots from distance, along with a tonne of work-rate from both sides were the feature of the initial 45 minutes.

The best passage of play came just before the break as the visitors fashioned an opening for Tomas Mosquera, whose shot was blocked by Tyler Lissette, before United broke forward and ended with a good effort by Maksim Manko.

Half time: 0-0.

After the break WaiBOP looked the more likely side for the best part of 25 minutes. Shaydon Young got into his work early and had a good shot blocked by Matt Gould in the Hawke’s Bay goal, then saw Gould save Milos Nikolic’s follow up.

Other opportunities followed. Takahiro Yokota sent a header narrowly wide, Liam Higgins whipped in a cross come shot that scooted just over the bar, then substitute, Jack McNab, fired in a rocket from the edge of the box that saw Gould pull off another strong save.

With the screws almost turned on full and less than 20 minutes remaining the visitors released the pressure with the opening goal. Substitute Nathanial Hailemariam got free down the left before knocking the ball square to Sean Morris who finished with deadly precision.

Hawke’s Bay doubled their lead and secured all three points with less than five minutes remaining when Mosquera nodded home a Tom Biss cross.



1. Andy McNeil
2. Liam Higgins
3. Aaron Scott
4. Takahiro Yokota
5. Tyler Lissette
6. Masaki Nomoto
7. Mark Jones
8. Mikhail Bredeveldt
99. Milos Nikolic
99. Maksim Manko
9. Shaydon Young


12. Jack McNab Sub8
18. Alexis Varela Sub7