WaiBOP United vs Wanderers SC – February 1, 2014 –


February 1, 2014Score: 3 – 1

Match Report

Links Ave Stadium, Mt Maunganui. Kick-off: 2.15pm (ASB Premiership)


WaiBOP United has snapped a five game winless streak with a well earned victory over bottom side, Wanderers SC.

Jack McNab, who played his club football at Links Ave for Tauranga City United during the 2013 winter season, grabbed the headlines with a match winning double to ensure United made no mistake at the second time of asking against the young Wanderers side.

In the reverse fixture earlier in the season, United was stung by two late goals which allowed Wanderers to snatch an unlikely 3-3 draw, but there was to be no repeat today.

Indeed, WaiBOP had the luxury of a missed penalty before getting on the score sheet after Nik Robson saw his spot kick well saved by Damian Hirst four minutes before the break. McNab settled the nerves, however, when he got on the end of a Reid Drake knock and lashed the ball home two minutes into added time at the end of the half.

Half time: 1-0.

McNab was back in the thick of it on the hour mark. Seconds after he had a shot superbly pushed wide by Hirst he rose to nod home Drake’s cross from the ensuing corner to double the lead.

Four minutes later the visitors were back in it when their captain, Adam Mitchell, scored to end a couple of minutes of sustained pressure in which WaiBOP’s Andy McNeil had been forced to pull off two superb saves.

Coach Smith adjusted his team’s shape, bringing on Masaki Nomoto for Messam, and the side settled down and eventually secured the result with ten minutes remaining. Nomoto saw his opportunity when United was awarded a free-kick 25 metres out and he lashed home a fierce strike for his side’s third and defining goal of the day.

Some late drama ensued when Mark Jones picked up his second yellow card of the day right on the 90 minute mark but United saw it through to the end to pick up three points that were a long time in coming.



1. Andy McNeil
2. Liam Higgins
5. Tyler Lissette
7. Mark Jones
10. Nik Robson
12. Jack McNab GoalGoal
13. Ben Latham
14. Sam Messam
16. Scott Hilliar
23. Tom Probert
17. Reid Drake AssistAssist


6. Masaki Nomoto GoalSub14
9. Shaydon Young Sub17
17. Florian Matk Sub10