Auckland City vs WaiBOP United – November 17, 2013 –

November 17, 2013Score: 3 – 1

Match Report

Kiwitea Street, Auckland. Kick-off: 2.00pm (ASB Premiership)

WaiBOP United has returned from the first of three Auckland trips this season with pride and competitive confidence, if not competition points, in their collective kit bags.

With most neutrals expecting a navy blue onslaught and a comfortable home victory, WaiBOP responded by going ahead after two minutes. Maksim Manko drove the ball home with his left foot to give the game the life it needed and WaiBOP the belief they could match their far more illustrious hosts.

For the first 25 minutes the match was an even contest but Auckland’s weight of possession began to tell as the half wore on and they were able to carve out the sort of chances they would have expected to at least get on target and possibly score. Instead, they looked a little bit blunt up front and also found United keeper, Andy McNeil, resolute in goal.

Three minutes in to first half added time the visitors found the equaliser they craved. Roy Krishna, who had already wasted a couple of decent chances, was afforded too much space just inside the box and he drilled home the sort of strike fans have come to expect from the Fijian marksman.

Half time: 1-1.

WaiBOP United came out positively after the interval and should have began the second half as they had the first. Milos Nikolic was unable to add to his season’s tally from out in front. Then on the hour mark Mikhail Bredeveldt just failed to open his ASB Premiership account.

The second half settled into a familiar pattern with the hosts enjoying more of the ball while United looked solid in defence.

The result turned Auckland’s way with six minutes remaining when substitute, David Browne, was deemed to have been fouled in the box by Masaki Nomoto and a spot kick was awarded. Adam Dickinson converted.

Browne then showed what a prodigious talent he his by superbly volleying home a Krishna cross four minutes into added time to pad out the scoreline.


1. Andy McNeil
2. Liam Higgins
3. Aaron Scott
4. Takahiro Yokota
5. Tyler Lissette
6. Masaki Nomoto
7. Mark Jones
8. Mikhail Bredeveldt
99. Milos Nikolic Yellow Card
99. Maksim Manko Goal
9. Shaydon Young


10. Nik Robson Sub9
16. Scott Hilliar Sub7